When I was around 5 years old we got our first German Shepherd. He was just a puppy when we bought him and of course just like any other kid, I was very excited. I saw him and immediately knew he was the one I wanted. He was little, black, and had the cutest little eyes I had ever seen. When we picked him out we left, and started heading home. We stopped at a store to buy him some food and I refused to leave him in the car. So, dad and I stayed in the car. We discussed what we should name him. We decided upon Ranger because he would be walking around the range at my house. At the time he was so little and young, so my parents said that he could sleep inside with me. Days, weeks, and months passed and he got too big to stay inside. So, we put him outside. He quickly learned where he could and couldn't walk and loved being outside to play. He has always been defensive of his family. If someone or something that he finds suspicious approaches any of us he immediately jumps up to our defense. If I go outside, he follows me and makes sure everything is safe. 10 years have passed and I am now 15. Ranger is getting older and older, and sadly I know his time is quickly approaching. I know when something happens to my "big man", as we so often refer to him, I will miss him dearly. Though, I will remember all the times we had and will never forget my best friend, Ranger.

Your comment will be posted after it is approved.


Leave a Reply.